Fri 1/21/11

A Daily Walk With DietPower

Walking is the best exercise for weight loss. And the things you see!

Clock face at night Instead of taking my usual route, I walked 3.5 miles to my barbershop chorus's annual dinner tonight. Thanks to rush-hour trafficand icy roads, I was still a half-mile from my destination at three minutes to dinnertime. I paused to shoot the Union Savings Bank clock before redoubling my pace. .

Download DietPower and lose poundsAbout this page: Every day, without fail, I step out of my office for a 3.5-mile walk around my Connecticut neighborhood. I carry a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TX5 pocket camera with a Leica 10x optical zoom lens. My object is to make an interesting photograph of at least one thing that is different that day. I post the results here, hoping they will inspire you and your friends to walk, too.  Terry Dunkle, DietPower founder and CEO.

All My Yesterdays

2011

Thursday, January 20: Twilight at Annie's House

Wednesday, January 19: Snush

Tuesday, January 18: Squashed Banana

Monday, January 17: Camilla's House

Sunday, January 16: DayGlo News

Saturday, January 15: Going LED

Friday, January 14: Icicle Crop

Thursday, January 13: Sunbeams

Wednesday, January 12: Two Feet of Snow

Tuesday, January 11: Snowstorm

Monday, January 10: Glove

Sunday, January 9: Golden Barn

Saturday, January 8: Holding Back the Darkness

Friday, January 7: Charlie Stayed Home

Thursday, January 6: Mary and Santa

Wednesday, January 5: Warm Thought, Cold Night

Tuesday, January 4: Someone Quit Smoking

Monday, January 3: Cherubs Bite the Dust

Sunday, January 2: Freed from Fog

Saturday, January 1: Ruth's Ribbon

(Daily Walk took a sabbatical from June 20 through December 31, 2010.)

Sunday, June 20: Grazing Cattle

Saturday, June 19: Petunia Bed

Friday, June 18: 10-Cent Pepsi

Thursday, June 17: BP Deserted

Wednesday, June 16: Frog Symphony

Tuesday, June 15: Mr. Lang's Wrench

Monday, June 14: Old Glory

Sunday, June 13: Setback at the Saltbox

Saturday, June 12: Brighter Than Plastic

Friday, June 11: Discarded Nest

Thursday, June 10: Elaine's Rock Garden

Wednesday, June 9: Holding Up the Sky

Tuesday, June 8: My Third Eye

Monday, June 7: "I'm Beautiful Inside"

Sunday, June 6: Pollock Painting

Saturday, June 5: Dianthus

Friday, June 4: Yellow Lilies

Thursday, June 3: Troubling Rock

Wednesday, June 2: Fly and Rose

Tuesday, June 1: Grape Arbor

Monday, May 31: God Bless Southbury

Sunday, May 30: Puffs

Saturday, May 29: Popcorn Iris

Friday, May 28: Rusty Plow

Thursday, May 27: We Buy Gold

Wednesday, May 26: Buttercups

Tuesday, May 25: Georgie Was Here!

Monday, May 24: Doggone Deer

Sunday, May 23: Lucky Poppy

Saturday, May 22: Worried Beagle

Friday, May 21: Ruth's Flowers

Thursday, May 20: Nesting Material

Wednesday, May 19: Charlie Waits

Tuesday, May 18: The Finches Are Back

Monday, May 17: Ready for Planting

Sunday, May 16: Mary

Saturday, May 15: Spying on the Iris

Friday, May 14: Tiny Fireworks

Thursday, May 13: Just a Closer Walk

Wednesday, May 12: Fencing the Green

Tuesday, May 11: Wild Strawberries

Monday, May 10: Dog Meeting

Sunday, May 9: Labyrinth

Saturday, May 8: A Patch of Mint

Friday, May 7: Copper Beech

Thursday, May 6: Wild Geraniums

Wednesday, May 5: Ready to Fly

Tuesday, May 4: Sparklers

Monday, May 3: Azalea Rainbow

Sunday, May 2: Hope

Saturday, May 1: Two Sets of Twins

Friday, April 30: Lilacs

Thursday, April 29: Fort Apache

Wednesday, April 28: Who Has Seen the Wind?

Tuesday, April 27: Grape Hyacinths

Monday, April 26: Climbing an Aspen

Sunday, April 25: Dogwood and Gravestones

Saturday, April 24: Red Azalea

Friday, April 23: Pinks

Thursday, April 22: Spring Wreaths

Wednesday, April 21: Police Call

Tuesday, April 20: Hope and Glory

Monday, April 19: This Flag Rocks!

Sunday, April 18: Pear Blossoms

Saturday, April 17: Missing Pole

Friday, April 16: Which Will Itch?

Thursday, April 15: Tax Revolt?

Wednesday, April 14: White Violets

Tuesday, April 13: Pole or Tree?

Monday, April 12: Twilit Church

Sunday, April 11: Triple Slip

Saturday, April 10: Sandbox to Go

Friday, April 9: Football and Art

Thursday, April 8: Missing Bench

Wednesday, April 7: Painting a Scenario II

Tuesday, April 6: Frozen Squirrel

Monday, April 5: Barn Flowers

Sunday, April 4: Message of the Ladybug

Saturday, April 3: A Plant That Grows Down

Friday, April 2: Pretzels and Dirt

Thursday, April 1: Church Ladies

Wednesday, March 31: Daffodils

Tuesday, March 30: Charlie's Stash

Monday, March 29: Cone Crop

Sunday, March 28: Egg Tree

Saturday, March 27: Poster Child

Friday, March 26: Definition of "Suburb"

Thursday, March 25: A Blessing Named Wheezy

Wednesday, March 24: Still Christmas

Tuesday, March 23: What a Fungus Knows

Monday, March 22: Suddenly, Spring

Sunday, March 21: Alien Tarp

Saturday, March 20: Snowdrops

Friday, March 19: First Crocus

Thursday, March 18: A Comforting Light

Wednesday, March 17: Mud Print

Tuesday, March 16: Pop Sunset

Monday, March 15: Slippery Omen

Sunday, March 14: The Gleaners

Saturday, March 13: Drowning Daffodils

Friday, March 12: Survivor

Thursday, March 11: Walker Down

Wednesday, March 10: Moss in the Snow

Tuesday, March 9: Astronomy Lesson II

Monday, March 8: Egg Tree

Sunday, March 7: Church Clown

Saturday, March 6: Happiest Sight

Friday, March 5: Balls

Thursday, March 4: Shivers

Wednesday, March 3: Charlie's Delight

Tuesday, March 2: Tree Surgeon to the Stars

Monday, March 1: Astronomy Lesson

Sunday, February 28: Green Sunset

Saturday, February 27: Strawberry Dreams

Friday, February 26: Three Hundred Winters

Thursday, February 25: Stacked

Wednesday, February 24: Anybody Home?

Tuesday, February 23: No Admission

Monday, February 22: A Squirrel Told Me

Sunday, February 21: Pair of Hearts

Saturday, February 20: Nature's Camera

Friday, February 19: Sex Change

Thursday, February 18: A Bunny Went By

Wednesday, February 17: A Hawk Sat Watching

Tuesday, February 16: Magic Door

Monday, February 15: Crossing the Delaware

Sunday, February 14: My Wild Czechoslovakian Rose

Saturday, February 13: Wren's Nest

Friday, February 12: Follow That Dog

Thursday, February 11: He's Melting

Wednesday, February 10: Green Snowman

Tuesday, February 9: Barbershop

Monday, February 8: Glowing Spire

Sunday, February 7: Football Spoken Here

Saturday, February 6: Waiting for Bluebirds

Friday, February 5: Bottomless

Thursday, February 4: Bleak House

Wednesday, February 3: Still Christmas

Tuesday, February 2: Suspense

Monday, February 1: Turkeys in Tow

Sunday, January 31: Salty Oak

Saturday, January 30: What Deer Eat

Friday, January 29: Doggies in the Window

Thursday, January 28: Snow Squall

Wednesday, January 27: One Stone Turned

Tuesday, January 26: Ratless

Monday, January 25: Swept Away

Sunday, January 24: Rorschach on the Road

Saturday, January 23: Curious Turkey

Friday, January 22: Strange Icicles

Thursday, January 21: Warm Homecoming

Wednesday, January 20: Lovely Farmhouse

Tuesday, January 19: Front Porch Blues

Monday, January 18: Not Too Bright

Sunday, January 17: Fooled Again

Saturday, January 16: January Thaw

Friday, January 15: A Tree Eats a Fence

Thursday, January 14: Stoned Litterbugs

Wednesday, January 13: Coyote Tracks?

Tuesday, January 12: Woods for Sale

Monday, January 11: A Pretty Shovel

Sunday, January 10: Who Will Eat it?

Saturday, January 9: Golden Shelves

Friday, January 8: Back to Nature

Thursday, January 7: Telephone to the Other Place

Wednesday, January 6: Holding the Bag

Tuesday, January 5: Pining for Morning Glories

Monday, January 4: Snirty Church

Sunday, January 3: A Limo in Heaven

Saturday, January 2: Toasty Runner

Friday, January 1: Gourmet Gloves

2009

Thursday, December 31: Vision of Summer

Wednesday, December 30: Llazy Lamas

Tuesday, December 29: Fallen Santa

Monday, December 28: Ice Ring

Sunday, December 27: Leaves That Cling

Saturday, December 26: Barnyard II

Friday, December 25: Merry Snowman

Thursday, December 24: Nobody Works Harder

Wednesday, December 23: Joe Cool

Tuesday, December 22: Headed for Spring

Monday, December 21: Who Needs Christmas Lights?

Sunday, December 20: Football in the Snow

Saturday, December 19: Ice Canyon

Friday, December 18: Manhattan Mystery

Thursday, December 17: Too Cold for Basketball

Wednesday, December 16: Church Door

Tuesday, December 15: Skater's Lament

Monday, December 14: They Never Sleep

Sunday, December 13: Ghosts of Summer

Saturday, December 12: Four Hands

Friday, December 11: Cable to Heaven

Thursday, December 10: Then One Foggy Christmas Eve....

Wednesday, December 9: Candles in Old Windows

Tuesday, December 8: Brightening the Barn

Monday, December 7: Don't Sit Down

Sunday, December 6: Frigid Sunrise

Saturday, December 5: Snow on the Roses

Friday, December 4: Tree-Hugging Rocks

Thursday, December 3: They'll Have a Flat Christmas

Wednesday, December 2: Crime Scene

Tuesday, December 1: Headstone for a Woods

Monday, November 30: Dallying Mallards

Sunday, November 29: Amazing Christmas Tree

Saturday, November 28: A Walk with Charlie

Friday, November 27: Shelf Fungi

Thursday, November 26: Thanksgiving Roses

Wednesday, November 25: Gone to Seed

Tuesday, November 24: November Flowers

Monday, November 23: Urban Barnyard

Sunday, November 22: Naked Barn

Saturday, November 21: Funktified

Friday, November 20: La Luna en el Agua

Thursday, November 19: Holy Ghost

Wednesday, November 18: Gary Lights Up

Tuesday, November 17: Turkey Parade

Monday, November 16: Mundane Miracle

Sunday, Novembe 15: Forkie

Saturday, November 14: Second Sink

Friday, November 13: Fox Grapes

Thursday, November 12: Are Trees Litterbugs?

Wednesday, November 11: Veteran Raspberries

Tuesday, November 10: City Water

Monday, November 9: A Painter with Altitude

Sunday, November 8: 17,000 Lights

Saturday, November 7: Bittersweet

Friday, November 6: Hubcap Looking for a Car

Thursday, November 5: Which is Older?

Wednesday, November 4: Polls Closed

Tuesday, November 3: Sun of a Beech

Monday, November 2: Church at Night

Sunday, November 1: The Littlest Walker

Saturday, October 31: Teenage Bee

Friday, October 30: Last Stand

Thursday, October 29: Location! Location! Location!

Wednesday, October 28: At the Met

Tuesday, October 27: Cry of the Hawk

Monday, October 26: Domestic Quartet

Sunday, October 25: Golden Sunset

Saturday, October 24: White Oak

Friday, October 23: As the Crow Flies

Thursday, October 22: Sky and Leaves

Wednesday, October 21: Red All Over

Tuesday, October 20: Familiar Face

Monday, October 19: Toll House Pumpkins

Sunday, October 18: God's Carpet

Saturday, October 17: Abandoned Plum

Friday, October 16: Barnyard

Thursday, October 15: Three Seasons

Wednesday, October 14: Tiny Apples

Tuesday, October 13: Aglow over Halloween

Monday, October 12: Daisies and Dandelions

Sunday, October 11: Church in Autumn

Saturday, October 10: Singing Chef

Friday, October 9: Rocks Made of Eyes

Thursday, October 8: Halloween Lawn Art

Wednesday, October 7: Green Surprise

Tuesday, October 6: October Rose

Monday, October 5: Forty Feet Tall

Sunday, October 4: I Meet a Mantis

Saturday, October 3: Whose Kitty?

Friday, October 2: Million-Dollar Twilight

Thursday, October 1: Vinelight

Wednesday, September 30: One Wild and Precious Life

Tuesday, September 29: A See-Through Tree

Monday, September 28: Snake Killer

Sunday, September 27: Carpet of Color

Saturday, September 26: Preaching to the Choir

Friday, September 25: Fever Plant

Thursday, September 24: Dotted Grapes

Wednesday, September 23: Ready to Fly

Tuesday, September 22: Horse Chestnuts

Monday, September 21: Recollected Brilliance

Sunday, September 20: A Pup with No Name

Saturday, September 19: Doorway to Autumn

Friday, September 18: Coiled Caterpillars

Thursday, September 17: Maple Tree, Day 3

Wednesday, September 16: Maple Tree, Day 2

Tuesday, September 15: Maple Tree, Day 1

Monday, September 14: All Bark, No Bite

Sunday, September 13: Rainbow Flower

Saturday, September 12: Fun to See, Fun to Say

Friday, September 11: A Nameless Scoundrel

Thursday, September 10: Comcast Cable Competition

Wednesday, September 9: A Busy Bumblebee

Tuesday, September 8: It's a Jungle Out There

Monday, September 7: Edible or Inedible?

Sunday, September 6: Their Luckiest Moment

Saturday, September 5: An Empty Chair

Friday, September 4: Bindweed Blues

Thursday, September 3: "Think on Me"

Wednesday, September 2: Scum

Tuesday, September 1: Prison Coffee

Monday, August 31: Possum for Lunch

Sunday, August 30: Wayfaring Tree

Saturday, August 29: Foxtails

Friday, August 28: A Boy in His Fist-Fork Phase

Thursday, August 27: He Couldn't Swim

Wednesday, August 26: Acorny Verse

Tuesday, August 25: Speed Limit 85

Monday, August 24: Crocodile!

Sunday, August 23: Hanging at Twilight

Saturday, August 22: Butcher's Dog

Friday, August 21: Working the Goldenrod

Thursday, August 20: Big as a Dinner Plate

Wednesday, August 19: Hickory Camera

Tuesday, August 18: Ruth's Hands

Monday, August 17: Mushroom Bugs

Sunday, August 16: A Hot-Pink Sun in a Tangerine Sky

Saturday, August 15: Phonebooks again

Friday, August 14: Humongous

Thursday, August 13: Dalmation Meets Groundhog

Wednesday, August 12: Cute Pests

Tuesday, August 11: Chipper

Monday, August 10: Cobalt Sky

Sunday, August 9: Yellow Memories

Saturday, August 8: A Beetle's Lunch

Friday, August 7: A Sip of Nectar

Thursday, August 6: Phonebook Dump

Wednesday, August 5: A Dream of January

Tuesday, August 4: Martian on a Milkweed

Monday, August 3: When Ponds Turn Green

Sunday, August 2: Headlights Approaching

Saturday, August 1: Should I Eat This?

Friday, July 31: Rose of Sharon

Thursday, July 30: Great Blue Heron

Wednesday, July 29: It's a Saltbox

Tuesday, July 28: Mailbox to Go

Monday, July 27: A Crooked University

Sunday, July 26: Oh, Deer

Saturday, July 25: House-Raising

Friday, July 24: Gnome Reunion

Thursday, July 23: Bugs Galore

Wednesday, July 22: Grand Central Station

Tuesday, July 21: Dragonfly meets Bug

Monday, July 20: URO Mystery Solved

Sunday, July 19: Overlooked Fruit

Saturday, July 18: Painted Turtles

Friday, July 17: House Wreckers

Thursday, July 16: What's This?

Wednesday, July 15: A Pretty Stop Sign

Tuesday, July 14: Beetle 4 Sale

Monday, July 13: I See Pink

Sunday, July 12: I See Red

Saturday, July 11: Keep Out!

Friday, July 10: Most Wonderful Hour of the Year

Thursday, July 9: A Sunny Beach

Wednesday, July 8: Sacked Out

Tuesday, July 7: Soaked!

Monday, July 6: Golden Moon

Sunday, July 5: Bicycle Parade

Saturday, July 4: My $10 Million Dream

Friday, July 3: Hedge Fun

Thursday, July 2: FBI Lilies

Wednesday, July 1: Tastes Like Summer

Tuesday, June 30: Party's Over

Monday, June 29: The Three Muscooteers

Sunday, June 28: Watching a Turdus

Saturday, June 27: New England Currantcy

Friday, June 26: Necklace of Champions

Thursday, June 25: A Convention of Geese

Wednesday, June 24: Painting a Scenario

Tuesday, June 23: Why Did the Beetle Cross the Road?

Monday, June 22: Clown Car

Sunday, June 21: What's Green and Sounds Like a Banjo?

Saturday, June 20: Swimming in Primroses

Friday, June 19: I Hate Deer

Thursday, June 18: Drenched!

Wednesday, June 17: They Sprang up Like Mushrooms

Tuesday, June 16: Where Time Doesn't Count

Monday, June 15: Behind a Basketball

Sunday, June 14: Flags for Elijah

Saturday, June 13: Crawling into a Daisy

Friday, June 12: Life Under a Warm Green Lantern

Thursday, June 11: Shell Game

Wednesday, June 10: Fearless Fox

Tuesday, June 9: Wet Clover

Monday, June 8: Two Bees, or Not Two Bees

Sunday, June 7: A Gorgeous Glutton

Saturday, June 6: Two Clowns

Friday, June 5: My Favorite Mailbox

Thursday, June 4: The Tomato's Deadly Cousin

Wednesday, June 3: Electric Pink

Tuesday, June 2: Lucky Boy

Monday, June 1: Six-Figure Mower

Sunday, May 31: Cool in the Shade

Saturday, May 30: Under the Butternut Tree

Friday, May 29: Awaiting a Pink Explosion

Thursday, May 28: I Shoot a Chipmunk

Wednesday, May 27: Who Dropped the Ball?

Tuesday, May 26: Out Standing in Their Field

Monday, May 25: Flags Galore!

Sunday, May 24: House of Patriots

Saturday, May 23: Memorial in a Rusty Hinge

Friday, May 22: The Sexually Clever Iris

Thursday, May 21: Raising the Wrong Baby

Wednesday, May 20: An Old Friend Is Dying

Tuesday, May 19: Crow vs. Hawk

Monday, May 18: Yours Truly

Sunday, May 17: A Wild Geranium

Saturday, May 16: War Flowers

Friday, May 15: A Mysterious Barn

Thursday, May 14: Who Invented the Microscope?

Wednesday, May 13: The Kitchen Sink

Tuesday, May 12: Slow Down!

Monday, May 11: What Lilacs Are For

Sunday, May 10: Mama Butterfly

Saturday, May 9: Gone to Seed

Friday, May 8: A Pack of Boston Terriers

Thursday, May 7: Underground Passage

Wednesday, May 6: White Violet

Tuesday, May 5: Singing His Heart Out

Monday, May 4: Kenny's Secret

Sunday, May 3: Monument to an Afternoon

Saturday, May 2: Gasoline Rainbow

Friday, May 1: The Duck and the Bashful Maiden

Thursday, April 30: A Poison Ivy Sandwich

Wednesday, April 29: The Very Picture of Spring

Tuesday, April 28: A Busy Bumblebee

Monday, April 27: Electric Pink

Sunday, April 26: Saturday Night Special

Saturday, April 25: An Old Oak Falls

Friday, April 24: How an Ant Sees a Daffodil

Thursday, April 23: The Nameless Brook

Wednesday, April 22: Weeding Time

Tuesday, April 21: Wet Apple Buds

Monday, April 20: Mr. Allen and the Crew Team

Sunday, April 19: Bloodroot II

Saturday, April 18: Green Jellybeans

Friday, April 17: Bloodroot

Thursday, April 16: Skunk Cabbage III

Wednesday, April 15: Find the Critter

Tuesday, April 14: Blessing of the Animals

Monday, April 13: The Crow Who Said "Wow!"

Sunday, April 12: A Quirky Church

Saturday, April 11: Self-Portrait in a Pothole

Friday, April 10: Easter flowers

Thursday, April 9: Dumb as a Squirrel

Wednesday, April 8: April Snow

Tuesday, April 7: Egg Trees, Connecticut Style

Monday, April 6: I Carry My Lunch

Sunday, April 5: A Tree in Spring

Saturday, April 4: Pigs with Drivers Licenses

Friday, April 3: Forsythia

Thursday, April 2: Skunk Cabbage II

Wednesday, April 1: Mystery of the Hanging Shoes

Tuesday, March 31: Downy Woodpecker

Monday, March 30: 300-Year-Old House

Sunday, March 29: The Broken Fence

Saturday, March 28: "You're Such a Delight"

Friday, March 27: Skunk Cabbage

Return to today's page

To comment on this page, .


This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information (verify here).   Ann Coulston (click for details)  Robert Epstein (click for details)  Barry Franklin (click for details) Click  here to see biographies
of DietPower's scientific
advisory board members.
  DietPower calorie counter logo

SPAM POLICY: DietPower doesn't send emails to people who haven't requested them, nor do we share email addresses with third parties. If you suspect that someone has subscribed you to our calorie counter mailing list fraudulently, email us at webmaster@dietpower.com.

 
Cannot connect to mySQL server.